, , , , , , , , , ,

WWW Wednesday logoWhat’s WWW Wednesday? It’s a fun way to share what you’ve been reading and which books on your TBR pile you hope to tackle next.

It’s currently hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Books and it’s easy to join in.

Simply answer the three questions below, post on your blog and then click here on the link to Taking on a World of Books and leave a comment and a link to your blog post for others to see.

Don’t have a blog? Just leave a comment with your responses.

And don’t forget to let me know what you’re reading too by commenting below.

And the questions are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

Here’s what my reading looks like:

Currently reading:

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak:

The Book ThiefExactly 169 pages into this 554 page-turner, which I borrowed from my daughter last week.

Our reading tastes are usually very different so I wasn’t too sure what to expect (haven’t seen the film) but loving it.

What the blurb says:

HERE IS A SMALL FACT. You are going to die.

1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier.

Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with a foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This is her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall.


It’s a small story about a girl + an accordionist + some fanatical Germans + a Jewish fist fighter + quite a lot of thievery.


Like to try it? It’s available to buy on Amazon.

The Haunting of Hattie Hastings: Part One by Audrey Davis

The Haunting of Hattie HastingsAuthor Audrey Davis and I are both members of The Book Club (TBC) on Facebook and discovered recently that we are book twins: her second novel will be published this spring on March 21, the same date that my second novel with my writing partner Susan Pape goes on sale.

So, of course, I have to read my twin’s book.

I bought it on kindle last night and am devouring it. Gloriously ghostly and funny too.

What the blurb says:

Hattie Hastings is happily married, even if husband Gary drives her up the wall at times.

When tragedy strikes, she is left alone and heartbroken, with only an assortment of family and friends to prop her up.

Struggling to cope, she is left reeling when her deceased other half returns, popping up at the most inappropriate times.

Hattie can’t convince anyone that Gary is back. Not even best friend Cat – now free from the cruel and controlling Stewart – will believe her.

Why has Gary returned? And what will Cat do when her slimey ex-husband tries to worm his way back into her affections.

The Haunting of Hattie Hastings will make you laugh, cry and count down until Part Two …

Try it for yourself: it’s available to buy on Amazon.

Recently finished:

The Abandoned by Sharon Thompson

The AbandonedThis was a blog tour read: I don’t do a lot of blog tours because I’m trying to make some serious indents into my TBR pile.

Not sure it’s working…

However, I really liked the sound of this one and I wasn’t disappointed.

It’s billed as a crime thriller but it’s rather too complex and thought-provoking to be so neatly pigeon-holed.

You can read my review and get the Amazon link here.

All Systems Down by Sam Boush

All Systems DownThis is the latest release from my publisher Lakewater Press: a futuristic thriller set in the wake of a cyber war that has pretty much destroyed Western civilisation.

A cracking read but scary too as things fall apart frighteningly quickly.

What if the book comes true?

What the blurb says:

24 hours. That’s all it takes. A new kind of war has begun.

Pak Han-Yong’s day is here. An elite hacker with Unit 101 of the North Korean military, he’s labored for years to launch Project Sonnimne: a series of deadly viruses set to cripple Imperialist infrastructure.

And with one tap of his keyboard, the rewards are immediate.

Brendan Chogan isn’t a hero. He’s an out-of-work parking enforcement officer and one-time collegiate boxer trying to support his wife and children.

But now there’s a foreign enemy on the shore, a blackout that extends across America, and an unseen menace targeting him.

Brendan must do whatever it takes to keep his family safe.

In the wake of the cyber attacks, electrical grids fail, satellites crash to earth, and the destinies of nine strangers collide.

Strangers whose survival depends upon each other’s skills and courage.

For fans of REVOLUTION and Tom Clancy, ALL SYSTEMS DOWN is a riveting cyber war thriller that presents a threat so credible you’ll be questioning reality.

I’ll be posting a full review of All Systems Down  next week but in the meantime it’s available to buy on Amazon from February 08.

Reading next:

The Buried Book by DM Pulley

The Buried BookLike lots of readers, I belong to a book club: once a month I meet up with a group of friends and we take it in turns to choose our monthly good read.

Some good reads, it has to be said, are better than others.

Not sure what to expect from this although I’ve seen some positive comments from other book bloggers.

What the blurb says:

When Althea Leary abandons her nine-year-old son, Jasper, he’s left on his uncle’s farm with nothing but a change of clothes and a Bible.

It’s 1952, and Jasper isn’t allowed to ask questions or make a fuss. He’s lucky to even have a home and must keep his mouth shut and his ears open to stay in his uncle’s good graces.

No one knows where his mother went or whether she’s coming back. Desperate to see her again, he must take matters into his own hands.

From the farm, he embarks on a treacherous search that will take him to the squalid hideaways of Detroit and back again, through tawdry taverns, peep shows, and gambling houses.

As he’s drawn deeper into an adult world of corruption, scandal, and murder, Jasper uncovers the shocking past still chasing his mother—and now it’s chasing him too.

Available to buy on Amazon.